On bended knees

No. This is not about that romantic love song by Boyz II. Since this is my first entry for 2016, I’m trying to change the usual by-line of my stories and insights (aside from the fact that I now have followers. Woohoo. Even if I can only count you on my fingers, still I appreciate your following and it’s nice to have you here.). 😇

So yesterday, one of my cousins finally tie the knot for his ex-girlfriend. It’s been a while since I last attended a wedding ceremony. The event was held at Cathedral Basilica in the heart of the Plaza Town of Malolos. My mother served as one of the Principal Sponsors, and I bet she’s the prettiest, next to the bride of course. Hehe

I felt like I was already in the cloud of love even before going to the event. A couple of months ago, I started watching marriage proposals in Youtube and slowly became a fan. At times I get to enjoy my spare time by watching videos of couples, whether they are in show business or ordinary ones. I am blessed to see and witness how they rise above the challenges of love-so-tough and the walang-forever syndrome, deciding instead to commit to one another as they commit to the Lord.

In those visuals, I took notice of one special gesture a man always bestows during marriage proposals and wedding ceremonies. It’s not the holding of hands nor the diminished proximity between their faces and lips. It’s not even the excitement on the face of the groom as the bride walks into the red carpet, nor the tears running down on the faces of the bride’s parents as they lead their daughter to the groom. It’s not also in the touch of the arms of the bride to the shoulder of the groom during their first dance as a couple.

Rather, the magic’s in the touch of the man on the ground.

The act of kneeling down before his woman and before the altar, as the man asks her to be his wife and his life-long partner, is one special gesture where we could learn a life lesson:

The greatest expression of love for people is when we’re down on our knees.

It’s a perfect gesture of sincerity and compassion that goes beyond the self.
The groom kneels not out of pride but of humility. Together with the bride, he kneels before the altar, not out of ego but of selflessness. He kneels out of respect to the woman whom he wants to share his life with. Most of all, he kneels out of total surrender and reverence to the Almighty God.

On bended knees, we see the man who asks not only a favor for himself, but for the blessing of God to the two of them.

And now I am amazed how this impression was affirmed through the Sunday service today where we are taught how to pursue God by praying for others.

Admit it. We have so many prayers, but rarely do they belong to our neighbors. We keep on praying and praying hard, but we keep the benefit of the content for ourselves alone. “Lord, I want this. Lord, will you please give me this. May you let me. Lord, right now…” We are so caught up in our own desires that we forget to include our loved ones and people around us who are much more in need of support and love — physically, financially, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.

It has been said that a person’s heart will be revealed in the contents of his prayer list. If that list revolves only around the one who’s praying, not even including his parents or siblings, there is probably something he needs to work on.

On a personal note, I am guilty of this. Although I pray for my family and some of my friends, I only choose those who are close to me and set aside those who are not… And I seldom pray for my enemies. (If not for my mom, I would not be encouraged to do that.) I figured it should be the other way around.

Isn’t it the ultimate commandment of the Lord anyway? To love Him and to love people.

These two principles meet in one simple act, and that is through prayer — praying not just for our sake, but interceding for others and kneeling down in the name of God’s love for them.

It’s refreshing to know how we can get closer to God by caring for the welfare of our family, our loved ones, our friends (and enemies too), our leaders, our mentors, our superiors, our country…
… The list goes on. Indeed we have so much to pray for. And we better start off today.

“Do all this in prayer, asking for God’s help. Pray on every occasion, as the Spirit leads. For this reason keep alert and never give up; pray always for all God’s people.”
-Ephesians 6:18 (GNB)

Published by

Mariah Miranda

Hi! I'm Mariah and I am an occasional writer. On this blog, I share my reflections on life, love, and anything in my heart.

Leave a comment